top of page

The Macao Catholic Culture Association (ACCM) launches a brand new video series “Cidade do Nome de Deus” - Macao‘s Catholic World Heritage on 7th July, 2023.  This new series aims to heighten the public’s awareness of Macao’s unique Catholic World Heritage and the rich history behind.  ACCM has specially invited Ms. Anna Leong, Specialist Guide for World Heritage Sites of Macao and the executive director of the Macau Catholic Pilgrimage Service Association, to lead us on virtual guided tours to Macao’s Catholic World Heritage sites, presenting their rich histories and cultural traditions.   


There will be a total of eight episodes, introducing one Catholic World Heritage site each time.  All videos will have Chinese and English subtitles for both local and international audiences.  The series will be released on ACCM’s official social media channels, including Facebook, Instagram and YouTube, where it presents the 400-year-old Catholic history of Macao and its integration with the local culture.


This new series is sponsored by the Cultural Development Fund of the Macao Special Administrative Region Government.


The Ruins of St Paul’s is the most distinctive landmark in Macao.  It is not only a World Heritage Site of Macao, the elaborate carvings on the façade of this previous “Church of the Mother of God” present the important teachings of the Bible, from Genesis to the Book of Revelation.

Ruínas de S. Paulo

St. Augustine's Church at Largo de Santo Agostinho, also known as the “Dragon Beard Temple” to the locals, is full of unique architectural features and the home of the “Bom Jesus dos Passos” statue that is used for the annual procession.

Igreja de
Santo Agostinho

Built in 1587, the Church of Our Lady of the Rosary, was officially listed on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List in 2005. The annual Procession of Our Lady of Fatima on May 13 departs from this church.

Igreja de
São Domingos

St Lawrence’s Church is also called “Hall of the Favourable Winds” (Feng Shun Tong). It is one of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites and also one of the three oldest churches in Macao.

Igreja de
São Lourenço

Igreja do Seminário de
São José

St. Joseph's Seminary Church also has another name, the “Small São Paulo”. It was founded by the Jesuits and the seminary has nurtured many great priests and missionaries, including the first Chinese Bishop of Macao, D. Domingos Lam.

The cathedral of the Catholic Diocese of Macau is called the Cathedral of the Nativity of Our Lady. It is to commemorate the birth of the Blessed Virgin Mary, patroness of the Cathedral, on September 8. The Cathedral is located in the city centre of Macao at Largo da Sé.

Igreja da
Sé Catedral

Capelinha de Nossa Senhora da Guia is the church with the highest elevation in Macao. There are many precious 17th century murals in this church and also the first lighthouse in China next to the church. This site was officially listed on the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List in 2005.

Capelinha de Nossa Senhora da Guia

Saint Anthony's Church is one of the three oldest churches in Macao, with Saint Anthony as its patron saint. This church is also known as Fa Vong Tong, “Church of Flowers” in Chinese.

Igreja de
Santo António

bottom of page